Friday, September 23, 2011

PBA Awards for Press Honors

MANILA, Philippines - The PBA Press Corps, made up of sportswriters who regularly cover the PBA games, is all set to stage its annual awards on Sept. 30 at the Topaz Room of the Gateway Suites in Cubao, Quezon City.
The awarding of the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Trophy to the Coach of the Year and the Danny Floro Trophy to the Executive of the Year will be the highlights of the semi-formal affair set to start at 7 p.m.

Also to be feted are cagers to be named Mr. Quality Minutes, William “Bogs” Adornado-Comeback Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, All-Rookie Selection, Referee of the Year, and Order of Merit winner.

Members of champion teams Talk n Text and Petron Blaze are tipped to dominate the awards in the affair presented by Talk ‘N Text, San Miguel Corp. and Powerade.

Coach Chot Reyes, who steered the Tropang Texters to a near grand slam, is the leading candidate for the Coach of the Year award.

Reyes, currently in Wuhan, China serving as assistant to coach Rajko Toroman in the 26th FIBA Asia Championship, previously won the coveted award in 1993, 2002, 2003 and 2009.

A major breakthrough for his team likewise makes Talk n Text team owner Manny V. Pangilinan the leading candidate for the Executive of the Year award.

Dave Floro, son of the late Crispa team owner, is expected to be on hand to personally award the Danny Floro Trophy.
PBA commissioner Chito Salud, board chairman Mert Mondragon and other PBA officials are also expected to grace the affair to be hosted by Sev Sarmenta and Patricia Bermudez-Hizon.

Meralco coach Ryan Gregorio is the current holder of the permanent Dalupan Trophy.
If he fails to retain the Coach of the Year award, Gregorio turns over the permanent trophy to his would-be successor. The Coach of the Year winner also gets a replica of the permanent ware.

The other 2010 awardees were Alaska Milk owner Wilfred Uytengsu as Executive of the Year, Gabe Norwood as Defensive Player of the Year, KG Canaleta as Mr. Quality Minutes, Kelly Williams as Comeback Player of the Year, Manolito Quilinguen Referee of the Year and Rico Maierhofer, Josh Urbiztondo, Jervy Cruz, Ronnie Matias and Ogie Menor making up the All-Rookie Team.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Kamukamo News Update